Paul Tesselaar elected EANA President

Press release

Mr Paul Tesselaar, Managing Director of ANP, was elected President of the European Alliance of News Agencies (EANA) for two years at the General Assembly held in Moscow on September 23, 2004. He succeeds Mr Uffe Riis Sorensen, Managing Director and Editor-in-Chief of Ritzaus Bureau, who has served for two years.

The General Assembly also elected Mr Bernard Reist, Managing Director and Editor-in-Chief of SDA/ATS, as Bureau member for three years.

The other Bureau members are Mr Gilbert Grellet, Director of External Relations and Partnerships, AFP, Mr Mikhail Gusman, First Deputy Director General, ITAR-TASS and Mr Erik Nylén, Secretary General, EANA.

The EANA 2005 General Assembly will be held in Geneva in connection with a seminar on September 22-23, 2005.